- August 10, 2017
- Posted by: admin
- Category: Uncategorized
In Florida, businesses that wish to sell beer, wine or liquor must apply for a license. There are licenses for different purposes and types of alcoholic drinks. Read on to learn more about liquor licenses and find out what is the best way to apply for a liquor license in Florida.
Types of licenses for alcoholic beverages
A consumption-on-premise or a package license is needed when selling wine or beer. As the name implies, consumption-on-premise licenses are for businesses that offer the option of drinking wine or beer within a specific area. Package licenses are given to shops that sell beer or wine where the consumption is done off the premises. Shop owners can apply for an unlimited number of licenses.
On the other hand, a quota license is needed if the business intends to sell liquor. The number of quota licenses available depends on the number of residents in a given county.
Restaurant owners are required to apply for a special (SRX) restaurant alcoholic beverage license if they wish to sell any type of alcoholic beverage that can be consumed on the premises. Much like the consumption-on-premises and the package license, there is no limitation as to how many licenses are issued per county. However, in order to qualify for this type of license, a restaurant must earn at least 51 percent from selling food and non-alcoholic beverages.
What is a quota license?
A quota license is issued to a county for every 7,500 residents it has. To get a quota license for liquor, shop owners must buy one of the existing licenses issued for a county or enter a quota license raffle. The winner of the raffle will be offered a chance to apply for a quota license.
Cost of the license
Business owners interested in applying for a quota license have to pay for the annual license fee. They also need to pay a one-time fee of $10,750. This one-time fee is from the Hughes Act. The fee obtained from each applicant is used in developing education, prevention and treatment programs related to alcohol and substance abuse.
How to apply for a license
There are several ways to apply for a license. Applicants may personally drop off their application at the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, mail the application or schedule for an appointment with any of their personnel.
Processing time for licenses
The amount it takes to receive the license varies depending on the type. Submitting a complete and accurate form can reduce the processing time. The Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco is the department responsible for issuing licenses for selling beer, wine and liquor. It is required to process an application within a period of 90 days of its receipt.
Entrepreneurs who wish to sell alcoholic beverages immediately can apply for a temporary license. This type of license costs $100 or 25 percent of the annual license fee, whichever of the two has a greater value. Once issued, the establishment is allowed to sell alcoholic drinks immediately.